Meet Mardee: Support Worker

Hi, my name is Mardee, I'm 34, a young mum and the flexibility in my role lets me balance my home and work life.

The flexibility I need

I have worked for House with No Steps for 9 ½ years, during my time I have had the great opportunity to work across 9 different services both in Accommodation and the Community, Social and Recreational Services.

When I started working, I was employed as a Support Worker, and stayed in the role for about 3 years learning as much as I could and getting to know our customers. After about three years I was given the opportunity to act in the role of Project Coordinator for 3 months.

I loved doing this role, as I got to work with fantastic people and also learn new skills in management – I really had the best of both worlds. It gave me a chance to get to know, not just the people we support but also their families, other specialists in the lives, and to network with similar companies.

It also gave me a chance to encourage people to go as far as they wanted with their hopes and dreams, and to support them in each step. Luckily for me I was successful in receiving a permanent position and continued to work in this role up until I took maternity leave in 2013.

When it came time for me to return to work, House with No Steps was extremely accommodating in allowing me to return in my role as Coordinator in a part time/job share position, five days a fortnight. It is through this flexible work agreement that I am able to balance my home and work life.

I continued to work in my Team Support Role until July this year, which is when I decided that it was best for me to go to a Support Worker role. Once again House with No Steps was very supportive.

I feel that this was the best decision for me to make as I am truly happy in my work when I am working directly with the people we support, I feel that this is where you can make the best changes and support people to do whatever they want with their lives.